Just a hair over one week left on the 1L Memo


The discussion section has to be 3,000 words, I can’t write what the memo is about, either because we have been ordered not to discuss it under pain of failure and expulsion, or because I haven’t looked at the assignment yet.

I have to create some artificial deadlines for myself on this memo thing. I am really a deadline writer. My former editors will say I was at my best when all hell broke loose 30 minutes before press time, which is another way of saying deadline writers are pretty much useless when the deadline is a week away.

Right now, I should be researching …. and prepping to answer the burning questions. Instead I read for tomorrow’s contracts class and played a pretty impressive game of spider solitaire.

Realistically, I will complete my research over the weekend. And hammer the thing into shape by Tuesday. But, somehow, I know — I’ll still be playing something until five minutes before it is due. Because after all, nothing happens until just before the deadline.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

