First law school assignment…


Orientation is underway and I am working on the first assignment: Learning how to read and brief cases. You would think it would be simple.

After all, I’m a smart man. I have worked as a writer, editor and publisher for years.

Not so simple. I just spent two hours reading forty pages after an 14 hour day and four hours of sleep. There was a time when I could run for weeks on four hours of sleep per night.

First lesson: The old man needs more sleep.

Second lesson: Briefing cases isn’t very difficult, but it does require a lot of concentration.

The take away:

Take breaks when you need to and don’t try to force yourself through the pages. Right now, I’m going to get a milkshake before hitting the briefs again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment